Both Van Vleck and Palacios had strong seasons and wins in the 3A playoffs, and both the Leopards and Sharks had plenty of players honored on the All-District 28-3A teams.

Van Vleck, who went 19-7 this season and advanced to the regional quarterfinals, had senior guard Malik Mitchell named as the district’s offensive player of the year and had two players – senior guard ZeyVaunte Easton and junior forward A.J. Stredic – named first-team all-district.

Mitchell was a scoring machine for the Leopards this season, averaging over 20 points in the Leps’ last three playoff games. 

Junior forward Kaleb Burrell and sophomore guard Christian Ellis were the two Leopards named to the second team, with junior forward De’Mitri Monroe and sophomore forward Jalen Williams tabbed with honorable mention honors.

Palacios had three players on the first team in senior guards Chase Ford and Zach Seaman, along with sophomore guard Camron Polk. Junior forward Javier Molina was named second-team all-district, and junior guard Jacob Martinez was named honorable mention.

Senior forward Johnny Gatica was also named the defensive player of the year with his tough rebounding and aggressive frontcourt play despite being only 5-foot-11. 

The Sharks finished third in the district, but had a 23-9 record and a win in the playoffs. 

Tidehaven didn’t make the playoffs, but the Tigers went 13-14 and were one win away from clinching a playoff spot. Three players were named all-district, with senior guard Bryce Galvan named to the first team, and junior forward Jesse Rodriguez and senior guard Jacob Galvan named as second-teamers. Senior guard Nick Garay was an honorable mention pick

Edna, the district champions, won two big honors with junior forward Kenny Haynes being named the district’s most valuable player and Chad Hartley named the coach of the year. The Cowboys also had Reese Orsak and Khaliyl Barnes named first-team all-district.  

Industrial’s Nathan Hammock was named the district’s newcomer of the year, and the Cobras’ Dylan Guzman and Collin Long rounded out the first team.

Edna’s Thomas Long, Boling’s Deleon Robinson and Industrial’s Logan Gabrysch rounded out the second team.

Gatica, Seaman and Ford were also named academic all-district for Palacios, while Stredic was named for Van Vleck.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.