24-3A All-District baseball

Van Vleck, Palacios, Tidehaven dominate teams


Along with capturing the District 24-3A baseball title this year, the Leopards dominated the All-District team with 11 nominations onto the squads.

Leading the way was senior Travis Koliba, who was named the overall MVP of the district while freshman Payton Brown was named newcomer of the year. 

Van Vleck Head Baseball Coach Jacob Cadle was also named Coach of the Year for leading the Leopards to the district title.

Palacios junior Keegan Garcia was named Offensive MVP for the district while junior Kolby Wilson was named Pitcher of the Year for the district. 

Tidehaven senior Gordo Moreno was named Defensive MVP for the district.

Named to the first team baseball squad for Van Vleck included senior Kameron Wied at pitcher, senior Cameran Hudson at first base, senior Cade Noster at third base and junior Josh DeLaRosa at shortstop. Van Vleck senior D.J. Vargas gained a first team selection in the outfield while junior Dylan Koliba gained a second-team DH selection.

Earning first team honors for Palacios included junior Slone Greaves at pitcher and freshman Jordan Duran earned a first-team selection at designated hitter.

Tidehaven senior Josh Zarate gained a first-team selection in the outfield.

Second team selections for Van Vleck include freshman Gunner Gibbens at pitcher while senior Trent Blaylock earned a second-team selection in the outfield.

Palacios junior Seth Sanchez earned a second-team selection at first base while senior Jacob Martinez gained a second-team nod at catcher and senior Jakob Nemes was named to the second-team outfield squad.

Tidehaven senior Cade Galvan earned a second-team nod at third base while junior Call Davant gained a second-team selection at second base and freshman Logan Crow was a second-team pitcher selection. Senior Kamron Green was named to the second-team outfield while senior Jesse Rodriguez was named to the second-team as a utility player.

Tidehaven players named to the honorable mention team included senior infielder Clay Ford, junior infielder Kaden Henry, junior infielder Joey Kacer and senior DH Logan Pierce.

Tidehaven players named to the Academic All-District included Clay Ford, Kamron Green, Call Davant, Gordo Moreno, Joey Kacer, Logan Crow, Cade Galvan, Logan Pierce and Josh Zarate.

Van Vleck players named to the Academic All-District included Cade Noster, Travis Koliba, Dylan Koliba, Payton Brown, Jace Mackenzie, Derek Buckalew, Josh Orsak, Trent Blaylock, Josh Delarosa, David Gibbens, DJ Vargas, Kameron Wied, and Cameran Hudson.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.