Tidehaven softball teams in LL district tourneys


Two Tidehaven Little League softball teams are in the hunt to win the District 18 tournament, but each will need to avoid a loss this weekend in El Campo.

The Tidehaven 12-year-old softball all-stars won its first game of the tournament on Wednesday, beating Van Vleck 11-1. But Tidehaven lost to Needville 16-2 and faced East Bernard in an elimination game on Friday.

The 12-and-under all-star team consists of: Mary Johnson, Makyla Patina, DanniMarie Sanchez, Savannah Canales, Cloey Martinez, Brendi Brune, Hannah Zavala, Melanie Sepulveda, Payge Mayo, Maleah Galvan, Halyn Rodriguez and Kimberly Moreno.

The Tidehaven junior softball team is in the tournament finals after dropping the first game. After losing 12-5 to Brazos on Tuesday, Tidehaven shut out Palacios 13-0 and beat Brazos 10-2 on Thursday to advance to the final.

The junior all-star team consists of: Kinsley Simons, Hailey Irizarry, Kaitlyn Folmar, Stephanie Sepulveda, Lydia Yeager, Bryleigh Evans, Jehan Johnson, Madison Kacer, Camryn Fric, Shelby Sliva, Halynn Saha and Mykela Mayo.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.